Man's Suit


A man's 18th century suit consists of breeches, waistcoat and coat (=justaucorps). Unlike the modern coat, the 18th coat is not an optional garment for outdoor use only, but an integral part of the suit without which a gentleman wasn't properly dressed. With a shirt, stock and overknee stockings, the man was fit for the public. The basic technique for making a suit was the same for all of the 18th century, with one exception: Until about 1750, the breeches usually buttoned in the centre front, whereas later, fall-front breeches (culotte à la bavaroise = Bavarian-style breeches) became fashionable, probably because it looked better with the shorter waistcoats of the time. For the later (1770s/80s) styles, there is a number of commercial patterns available from suppliers that cater to American War of Independence reenactors. For earlier styles, there isn't much to be found yet, so I was happy to find a guinea pig for a 1750s suit. The results can be seen below.

Important warning: Before you start a project like this one, you should have advanced tailoring know-how. I will not explain about seam allowance, flat-felling, inserting a pocket and the like. It may help if you've made a modern suit before, but it can also be a drawback whenever you have to forget about modern techniques, which is often the case. In most cases, you will have to fit the size of the pattern, so you should also have some experience there. Please read all of the instructions before even buying the fabric since something mentioned in a later chapter may impact earlier stages.

And as always: Please let me know if anything isn't clear enough. It is quite conceivable that I find my instructions perfectly logical and understandable while others don't. Especially since I've written each chapter while I was one or two steps further, so I may have forgotten to mention something.

 

  1. Preparations and Material
  2. Pattern and cutting
  3. The breeches
  4. The coat
  5. The waistcoat
  6. Wear and care

 

Wednesday, 15-May-2013 23:53:14 MEST

 

 

Content, layout and images of this page 
and any sub-page of the domains marquise.de, contouche.de, lumieres.de, manteau.de and costumebase.org are copyright (c) 1997-2016 by A. Bender. All rights reserved. Reproduction prohibited - exceptions see Copyright Page.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Männeranzug


Ein Männeranzug des 18. Jahrhunderts besteht aus Culotte (=Kniehose), Gilet (=Weste) und Justaucorps (=Rock). Dazu kommen (als Wäsche) Hemd, Halsbinde und überknielange Strümpfe. Im Grunde war die Technik das ganze Jahrhundert über gleich, bis auf einen Punkt: Bis um 1750 hatten die Hosen meist einen Knopfschluß in der vorderen Mitte, während sich danach die culotte à la bavaroise zunehmender Beliebtheit erfreute: Sie hatte, wie die heutigen "Krachledernen", vorn eine Klappe. Mit den kürzer gewordenen Westen sah das einfach besser aus. Für den späten Stil (1770-80) gibt es bei amerikanischen Versendern (siehe Bezugsquellen) mehrere Schnitte, aber nicht für frühere Stile. Deshalb hat es mich sehr gefreut, daß ich ein Versuchskaninchen gefunden habe, dem ich einen Anzug von um 1750 schneidern konnte, um die Erfahrung für diese Seiten zu sammeln. Das vorläufige Ergebnis ist unten zu sehen.

Wichtige Warnung: Bevor Du Dich an ein solches Stück wagst, solltest Du allgemeines Schneidereiwissen im Fortgeschrittenenstadium haben. D.h. ich werde nicht erklären, was es mit Nahtzugabe auf sich hat, wie man einen Saum macht oder eine Tasche einsetzt. Es ist teilweise hilfreich, wenn Du mal einen modernen Anzug genäht hast, kann aber auch eine Last sein - nämlich da, wo man von den modernen Vorstellungen abgehen muß, und das ist oft der Fall. In den meisten Fällen wirst Du den Schnitt in der Größe anpassen müssen - auch darin solltest Du Erfahrung haben. Lies die gesamte Anleitung durch, bevor Du auch nur den Stoff kaufst - manchmal stößt Du auf Variationen oder Spezialfälle, die Auswirkung auf ein früheres Stadium der Verarbeitung haben.

Und wie immer: Wenn etwas unklar ist, gib mir bitte bescheid*. Es ist leicht denkbar, daß ich meine Anleitung völlig logisch finde, Du aber nicht. Vor allem, da ich jedes Kapitel erst geschrieben habe, als ich eigentlich schon ein, zwei Schritte weiter war, so daß ich vielleicht einen wichtigen Arbeitsschritt zu erwähnen vergessen habe.

  1. Vorbereitungen und Material
  2. Schnitt und Zuschneiden
  3. Die Hose
  4. Das Justaucorps
  5. Die Weste
  6. Anziehen und Pflege
  7. Variation: Culotte à la bavaroise

 

*) Wenn Du mit einer ausgedruckten Version arbeitest: http://www.marquise.de/de/contact.html

Wednesday, 24-Apr-2013 20:52:19 MEST